• Gluten Free Bakery Melbourne

    Get-On the App Store


Common Foods You Might Not Know Have Gluten Uncategorized

Home » Common Foods You Might Not Know Have Gluten
« Go back

Common Foods You Might Not Know Have Gluten

If you have coeliac disease, you know how difficult it is to find gluten-free foods when you’re out with your friends and family.  Many people believe that cutting out gluten makes them healthier, but in fact, most people don’t need to avoid gluten.  Unless you have coeliac disease, there are no substantial health benefits to going gluten-free.  However, it’s always a good idea to be aware of what foods have gluten so you can have gluten-free foods available for your loved ones with coeliac disease.  Here are some common foods that you might know have gluten.

Ice Cream

Unless you’re specifically buying gluten-free ice cream, you have to be careful about the ingredients in your ice cream.  Some ice creams can contain gluten ingredients like starch, and some artificial colours and flavours contain gluten.

Soy Sauce

Soy is a direct source of gluten, meaning soy sauce is not a gluten-free food.  Soybeans are fermented to create soy sauce, and there are some additional flavourings that may also contain gluten.  Look for gluten-free soy sauce for a delicious gluten-free alternative.


You have to be careful with the spices that you use in your cooking.  When cooking, try to get fresh herbs and spices.  Pre-packaged herbs and spices may have been processed in a contaminated area, meaning gluten could contaminate the spices.  Some manufacturers add a little flour to the spices as well to prevent the spices from clumping, which can be dangerous for those with coeliac disease.


You might have already known that beer has gluten in it, but did you know that whiskey and bourbon also contain gluten?  Depending on how the alcohol is produced, there can be gluten in the drink that comes from the grain.  Always make sure to check if your whiskey or beer is gluten-free before offering it to your guests.


While rice is gluten-free, there are other ingredients in sushi that can contain gluten.  A popular ingredient in sushi is imitation crab meat, which is a mixture of a wide range of seafood and starch.  The starch can add gluten to the sushi, making it unsafe to eat for those that are gluten-intolerant.  Remember, soy sauce contains gluten as well, so be sure to ask for gluten-free soy sauce to go with your sushi.

Whole Grains

Don’t be fooled by thinking that all whole grains are gluten-free.  There are whole grains that are safe to eat, including buckwheat, sorghum, and flax.  Whole grains to avoid include couscous, barley, and kamut.  If you’re cooking at home, double check to see if your whole grains are gluten-free to ensure the safety of your gluten-intolerant guests.

Ways to Ensure You Choose Gluten-Free Foods

Even if you deliberately choose gluten-free foods, it doesn’t mean that they’re entirely gluten-free.  Many gluten-free products are manufactured in factories that also produce gluten-rich products, which means there’s a high risk for cross contamination.  The best way to make sure there is no gluten contamination in your food is by choosing foods that are made in a completely gluten-free kitchen, like the Gluten Free 4 U kitchen.

We employ the highest standards to ensure that there is no gluten in or around our kitchen, meaning there is an extremely low chance of gluten contamination. We have a wide range of gluten-free products to choose from, regardless of the occasion.  From large parties to after-school snacks, we have the gluten-free foods you’re looking for.  Check out our selection online or stop in to see us today to pick up the most delicious gluten-free foods in the area.

    Quick Enquiry

    Your Cart
    There are no products in the cart!
    Continue Shopping

    Minimum order must be $120 for Home Delivery After any applicable discount codes or specials